Show Image

The Breakdown

Presented by: Joel Rigler and Steve Vickers
Produced by: Joel Rigler and Steve Vickers

Saturday 3 pm - 5 pm

A weekly alternative musical jamboree transmitting live to the world every Saturday afternoon. Usually presented by Joel and Steve but sometimes with Adam or John and occasionally even a Dan.

Every week, we give exposure to the best new music we can lay our hands on, with a regular delve into the past for ‘The 4 O’Clock Classic’ and occasional features like ‘The Datarock Double’ and ‘The Album Anniversary Flashback’.
The Breakdown – never knowingly playing the same thing twice, since 2006.

Follow us on Spotify
Subscribe via Apple Podcasts
Get us on Tunein
Or find us via a plethora of other podcast apps at

You can also catch up with every past show from 2013 to 2019 via Mixcloud

And why not follow our ever expanding ‘4 O’Clock Classic’ playlist on Spotify

Get in touch via the email address above or contact us via Facebook or Twitter to say hello, or to let us know if there’s something we should be playing.

What we’ve played recently…


Saturday 21st March 2020:

International Teachers Of Pop – ‘Don’t Diss The Disco’
The Radio Dept – ‘You Fear The Wrong Thing Baby’
Grouplove – ‘Deleter’
Moon Panda – ‘Rick F*****’ Dalton’
Tornado Wallace – ‘Atoms’
Ringo Deathstarr – ‘Gazin”
The Avalanches – ‘Running Red Lights’ (feat. Rivers Cuomo & Pink Siifu)
Tove Lo – ‘I’m Coming’
Veronica Maggio – ‘Jag Kommer’
Ceramic Hello – ‘Dig That Crazy Beat’
Baxter Dury – ‘Say Nothing’
Laura Stevenson – ‘Time Bandits’
Gouge Away – ‘Wave Of Mutilation’

The 4 o’clock classic: The Long Blondes – ‘Seperated By Motorways’

Purity Ring – ‘Pink Lightning’
Perfume Genius – ‘On The Floor’
Beachtape – ‘Somewhere Better’
Hayley Williams – ‘Roses/Lotus/Violet/Iris’ (feat. Boy Genius)
somegirlnamedanna – ‘Hello I Am’
Waxahatchee – ‘Can’t Do Much’
Warm Digits – ‘Everyone Nervous’ (feat. Rozi Plain)
Dogleg – ‘Bueno’
Cayley Thomas – ‘Two Minds’
Badly Drawn Boy – ‘Banana Skin Shoes’
Margaret Glaspy – ‘Devotion’
Orchards – ‘Magical Thinking’
Cable Ties – ‘Hope’


Saturday 14th March 2020:

Surfer Blood – ‘Karen’
Warm Digits – ‘Feel The Panic’ (feat. The Lovely Eggs)
Riz Ahmed – ‘Karma’
Matt Berninger – ‘Holes’
The Naked And Famous – ‘Come As You Are’
Porridge Radio – ‘Nephews’
Mind Enterprises – ‘Mont Blanc (Purple Disco Machine Remix)’
Juiceboxxx – ‘It’s Easy To Feel Like A Nobody When You’re Living In The City’
Anna Burch – ‘Tell Me What’s True’
The Dears – ‘The Worst In Us’
Angelica Garcia – ‘Lucifer Waiting’

The 4 o’clock classic: Mudhoney – ‘Touch Me I’m Sick’

Chemtrails – ‘Frightful In The Sunlight’
Four Tet – ‘School’
El Tee – ‘Keep Walking’
Deradoorian – ‘Saturnine Nights’
Flume – ‘The Difference’ (feat. Toro Y Moi)
Empress Of – ‘Give Me Another Chance’
THICK – ‘Sleeping Through The Weekend’
Melby – ‘Things I Do When I’m Alone’
The Districts – ‘Velour And Velcro’
Woods – ‘Where Do You Go When You Dream?’
Okay Alright – ‘Morning Glories, Rabbits, and Moon’
Savage Mansion – ‘Merrie’
Yaeji – ‘Waking Up Down’


Saturday 7th March 2020:

Austra – ‘Anywayz’
JARV IS – ‘House Music All Night Long’
Caroline Rose – ‘Nothing’s Impossible’
Dixie Chicks – ‘Gaslighter’
Julia Bardo – ‘Please Don’t Tell Me’
Gaygirl – ‘Mikkel’
Islet – ‘Sgwylfa Rock’
Moaning – ‘Make It Stop’
Moscoman – ‘What Do We Care’ (feat. Tom Sanders)
Hamilton Leithauser – ‘Isabella’
Methyl Ethel – ‘Majestic AF’
Virus – ‘Chelsea’
Peakes – ‘On The Other Side’

The 4 o’clock classic: Aretha Franklin – ‘Rock Steady’

Lady Gaga – ‘Stupid Love’
All We Are – ‘Bad Advice’
Bad Bunny – ‘Yo Perreo Sola’
Ariel Sharratt & Mathias Kom – ‘Rise Up, Alexa’
U.S. Girls – ‘And Yet It Moves / Y Se Mueve’
Hazel English – ‘Combat’
Muzz – ‘Bad Feeling’
Sytë – ‘Tail Light’
BTS – ‘Ugh’
Pottery – ‘Take Your Time’
PINS – ‘Bad Girls Forever’
Simen Mitlid – ‘Weeks’ (feat. Tuvaband)
Adam Green – ‘All Hell Breaks Loose’
Yellow Brain – ‘Cotton Mouth’


Saturday 29th February 2020:

Vundabar – ‘Montage Music’
Throwing Muses – ‘Dark Blue’
Mabel – ‘Boyfriend’
Caribou – ‘New Jade’
Boarder – ‘Chew Me Up’
Perfume Genius – ‘Describe’
Rufus Wainwright – ‘Damsel In Distress’
Dizzy – ‘Sunflower’
Christine & The Queens – ‘La Vita Nuova’
Sink Ya Teeth – ‘The Vaccine’
Thick – ‘Mansplain’
Dirty Projectors – ‘Overlord’
Why Bonnie – ‘Voicebox’
The Magnetic Fields – ‘The Day The Poiliticians Died’

The 4 o’clock classic: Mazzy Star – ‘I’ve Been Let Down’

PINS – ‘Hot Slick’
Margaret Glaspy – ‘Stay With Me’
Soccer Mommy – ‘Crawling In My Skin’
Tim Burgess – ‘Empathy For The Devil’
Yumi Zouma – ‘Southwark’
Land Of Talk – ‘Weight Of That Weekend’
Suzanne Vega – ‘Walk On The Wildside’
Real Estate – ‘Gone’
The National – ‘Never Tear Us Apart’
Jay Som – ‘A Thousand Words’
Chicano Batman – ‘Color My Life’
Christian Lee Hutson – ‘Lose This Number’
Phoebe Bridgers – ‘Garden Song’


Saturday 22nd February 2020:

Purity Ring – ‘stardew’
Strawberry Generation – ‘Breakthrough Feeling’
Habibi – ‘Born Too Late’
Tame Impala – ‘Is It True’
Lanterns On The Lake – ‘Blue Screen Beams’
Duck – ‘New Super Power’
Harkin – ‘Nothing The Night Can’t Change’
Red Sleeping Beauty – ‘Mi Amor’ (feat. Cristina Quesada)
Ariel Sharratt & Mathias Kom – ‘Never Work’
Love Harder – ‘Outta My Head’ (feat. Julie Bergan)
Pictish Trail – ‘Double Sided’
Upset Stomach – ‘I <3 My Job’
Grimes – ‘You’ll Miss Me When I’m Not Around’
Beach Bunny – ‘April’

The 4 o’clock classic: The Sabres Of Paradise – ‘Smokebelch II (Beatless Mix)’

Snarls – ‘Marbles’
The Crystal Furs – ‘Too Kind To Be Cruel’
Pale Honey – ‘Treat You Good’
Sign Libra – ‘Sea Of Islands’
Guided By Voices – ‘Always Gone’
Banoffee – ‘Count On You’
Yves Tumor – ‘Gospel For A New Country’
Pizzagirl – ‘Cape Canaveral’
Andras – ‘Honeybird’
The Avalanches – ‘We Will Always Love You’ (feat. Blood Orange)
Las Dianas – ‘Te Quiero (Lejos)’
Lewsberg – ‘From Never To Once’
Charmpit – ‘Wild Wild Westfield’
Working Men’s Club – ‘White Rooms & People’
Daði Freyr – ‘Think About Things’


Saturday 15th February 2020:

Aly & AJ – ‘Attack Of Panic’
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever – ‘Cars In Space’
HMLTD – ‘Where’s Joanna?’
Alex The Astronaut – ‘I Think You’re Great’
Caroline Rose – ‘Freak Like Me’
Jack Stauber’s Micropop – ‘Dinner Is Not Over’
Good Sleepy – ‘Dessert’
Summer Camp – ‘Barefoot In The Park’
Boniface – ‘It’s A Joke’
Pom Pom Squad – ‘Red With Love’
Lanterns On The Lake – ‘When It All Comes True’
Sharon Van Etten – ‘Beaten Down’

The 4 o’clock classic: Broken Social Scene – ‘7/4 (Shoreline)’

Skepsis – ‘Back It’ (feat. Dizzee Rascal and Yizzy)
Allie X – ‘Devil I Know’
Laura Veirs – ‘I Was A Fool’
Coriky – ‘Clean Kill’
Billie Eilish – ‘No Time To Die’
Hospital Bracelet – ‘Sober Haha Jk Unless’
Tennis – ‘How To Forgive’
Arlo Parks – ‘Eugene’
Basia Bulat – ‘Already Forgiven’
Worriers – ‘Big Feelings’
Clever Girls – ‘Spark’
Approachable Members Of Your Local Community – ‘The Internet’
The Strokes – ‘At The Door’


Saturday 8th February 2020:

Carly Rae Jepsen – ‘Let’s Be Friends’
Warm Digits – ‘A View From Nowhere’ (feat. Emma Pollock)
Halsey – ‘Experiment On Me’
The Radio Dept – ‘The Absence Of Birds’
Beach Bunny – ‘Promises’
Adwaith – ‘Lan Y Môr’
HMLTD – ‘Blank Slate’
TOPS – ‘I Feel Alive’
Hamilton Leithauser – ‘Here They Come’
Purple Disco Machine – ‘In My Arms’
Jockstrap – ‘Acid’
070 Shake – ‘The Pines’
Wye Oak – ‘Fear Of Heights’

The 4 o’clock classic: Los Campesinos! – ‘The Sea Is A Good Place To Think Of The Future’

Christine And The Queens – ‘People, I’ve Been Sad’
Loose Fit – ‘PULL THE LEVER’
Horsegirl – ‘Sea Life Sandwich Boy’
I Break Horses – ‘Death Engine’
Cheerbleederz – ‘Sometimes I Cry At Work’
Hinds – ‘Good Bad Times’
Laura Gibson & Dave Depper – ‘Let’s Go’
Zuzu – ‘Skin And Bone’
Shopping – ‘Body Clock’
Pottery – ‘Texas Drums Pt 1’
Meadowlark – ‘Halo’
K.Flay – ‘Bad Memory’

Leave a comment

© 2020 Sheffield Live! Made in Sheffield. Made by You. Problems with the website? Let us know! Powered by